Posted in Five Star Reads, Happy When It Rains

My Favourite Books of 2021

Copy of My Favourite Books of 2023

It’s that time of year again…

2021 was definitely a mixed bag. My highlights were spending lots of time with my family, publishing 3 x novels (Happy When It Rains, Poppy & The Gents & Five Things), bringing home the fluffball, getting vaxxed, double-vaxxed and now boosted and being lucky enough to return to the land of Barnes & Noble (i.e. USA).

My Year in Books (Goodreads):

⭐️ 2

⭐️ ⭐️ 10

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 48

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 91

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ 34

Of the 34 Five Star Reads this year, my Favourite Books of 2021 were as follows:

N.B. Originally I had 10 x Favourite Books from 2021 but as at 27 January 2024 I had to remove 2 x books because of offensive social media posts by their authors.


London, Can You Wait?London, Can You Wait? By Jacquelyn Middleton (January)

Blurb: Alex loves Mark. Mark loves Alex. But is love enough?

Since moving to London from the US, twenty-four-year-old Alex Sinclair seems to have it all: a coveted job writing for the theatre, supportive friends, and the man of her dreams gorgeous Irish actor, Mark Keegan. But in the year since the acclaimed debut of her play, Alex and Mark’s lives have been turned upside down.

Thanks to his role on a smash-hit British TV show, Mark is catapulted to stardom. Alex couldn’t be happier until her boyfriend’s popularity and insatiable drive to succeed means they’re apart more than they’re together. Forced to share Mark with showbiz heavy-hitters, intrusive press, and unrelenting fangirls, Alex’s hopes for a stable and committed life with him start to fade. Her struggles with panic attacks, career uncertainty, and Mark’s increasingly worrisome behaviour make her wonder: how much more can she bend before she breaks?

My Thoughts: The prequel ‘London Belongs to Me’ was one of my 10 Favourite Books in 2020. As somebody who’s struggled with their mental health for the entirety of their adult life, I really appreciate how authentically the author wrote about Alex’s panic attacks in both books. If you’ve read any of my previous blog posts, you’ll also know that I’m a proud Mancunian and I particularly liked the parts of the book set in Manchester (including the Pret in Piccadilly Gardens where I used to buy my lunch every day). More than anything, what really made me choose this book as one of my 10 Favourite Books in 2021 was the relationship between Alex and Mark. I was rooting for them from the very beginning. It’s one of those books that as soon as I’d finished reading it on my Kindle, I just knew I had to have it as an actual book.


Repeat (Larsen Bros, #1)Repeat (Larsen Brothers #1) by Kylie Scott (February)

Blurb: When a vicious attack leaves 25-year-old Clementine Johns with no memory, she’s forced to start over. Now she has to figure out who she was and why she made the choices she did – which includes leaving the supposed love of her life, tattoo artist Ed Larsen, only a month before.

Ed can hardly believe it when his ex shows up at his tattoo parlor with no memory of their past, asking about the breakup that nearly destroyed him. The last thing he needs is more heartache, but he can’t seem to let her go again. Should they walk away for good, or does their love deserve a repeat performance?

My Thoughts: Kylie Scott is one of my all-time favourite authors and I was really looking forward to ‘Repeat’ because I’m a sucker for the amnesia trope. Like Alex and Mark in ‘London, Can You Wait?’ I was rooting for Clem and Ed from the very beginning. Despite their nasty break-up, it was obvious they still loved each other and were destined to end up together. Ed was such a gentleman because even though he was scarred by their break-up, he was still stubbornly determined to do the right thing by Clem. Clem 2.0 was so different to the one Ed and his friends remembered from right before she was attacked and lost her memory, I knew there had to be something else going on. If you like ‘Repeat,’ you should also check out ‘Pause‘ which features Ed’s brother, Leif.


Much Ado About YouMuch Ado About You by Samantha Young (May)

Blurb: At thirty-three-years old Evangeline Starling’s life in Chicago is missing that special something. And when she’s passed over for promotion at work, Evie realizes she needs to make a change. Some time away to regain perspective might be just the thing. In a burst of impulsivity, she plans a holiday in a quaint English village. The holiday package comes with a temporary position at Much Ado About Books, the bookstore located beneath her rental apartment. There’s no better dream vacation for the bookish Evie, a life-long Shakespeare lover.

Not only is Evie swept up in running the delightful store as soon as she arrives, she’s drawn into the lives, loves and drama of the friendly villagers. Including Roane Robson, the charismatic and sexy farmer who tempts Evie every day with his friendly flirtations. Evie is determined to keep him at bay because a holiday romance can only end in heartbreak, right? But Evie can’t deny their connection and longs to trust in her handsome farmer that their whirlwind romance could turn in to the forever kind of love.

My Thoughts: Another of my all-time favourite authors. ‘On Dublin Street‘ is in my Top 5 Re-Reads and both ‘As Dust Dances‘ and ‘Things We Never Said‘ by the same author were in my 10 Favourite Books of 2020. The author did such an amazing job of making me fall in love with the Northumberland coast that even before I’d finished reading ‘Much Ado About You’, I was already researching trips to Alnwick to see the gorgeous scenery (and Barter Books of course) for myself.


The Next Mrs RussoThe Next Mrs Russo by Jana Aston (July)

Blurb: I was not looking for a date.
Another questionable relationship was the last thing I needed.
Because trust me, they were all questionable.

But through a series of unfortunate events involving my cat and
his poor decision-making skills, I agreed to a set-up.

Except… the set-up is with the governor.

I am not political girlfriend material.
For one, I’m a little bit crazy.
For two, I have secrets.

But I also have a big crush on the governor.
One little date can’t hurt, right?
Spoiler: it can.

My big crush is going to end in big trouble.

My Thoughts: ‘The Next Mrs Russo’ had to make this list because it’s hilarious. The fact that it made me laugh during an ill-advised camping trip (#neveragain) during a freakish heatwave here in the UK is nothing short of miraculous. One of my favourite characters is Miller, a high-schooler who brazenly employs himself as Audrey’s assistant. He really deserves his own novel. I could also relate to how sensitive Audrey is to her cat, Gary’s needs because I’m just like that with the fluffball although I haven’t engaged with a pet psychic… yet. The scene with Gary and the chipmunk in the kitchen was comedy gold. This author is another one of my all-time favourites and I’d happily recommend any of her books.


The Shameless Hour (The Ivy Years, #4)The Shameless Hour (The Ivy Years #4) by Sarina Bowen (August / September)

Blurb: The girl who’s had everyone meets the boy who has no one.

For Bella, the sweet-talking, free-loving, hip-checking student manager of the Harkness men’s hockey team, sex is a second language. She’s used to being fluent where others stutter, and the things people say behind her back don’t (often) bother her. So she can’t understand why her smoking hot downstairs neighbor has so much trouble staying friends after their spontaneous night together. She knows better than to worry about it, but there’s something in those espresso eyes that makes her second guess herself.

Rafe is appalled with himself for losing his virginity in a drunken hookup. His strict Catholic upbringing always emphasized loving thy neighbor—but not with a bottle of wine and a box of condoms. The result is an Ivy League bout of awkwardness. But when Bella is leveled by a little bad luck and a downright sinister fraternity stunt, it’s Rafe who is there to pick up the pieces.

Bella doesn’t want Rafe’s help, and she’s through with men. Too bad the undeniable spark that crackles between the two of them just can’t be extinguished.

My Thoughts: There are so many reasons why ‘The Shameless Hour’ by another of my all-time favourite authors should be included in my Favourite Books from 2021 (it flips the usual trope of manwhore hero and virginal heroine, features sex-positive feminism and deals sensitively with difficult subjects such as slut-shaming, date-rape drugs, online hazing and STDs) but Number 1 would definitely be Rafe. If I was giving out trophies, it’d be a photo finish between Rafe and Matteo from ‘Ache for You’ (see below) as winner of the Best Book Boyfriend 2021 crown. Although Rafe might just steal it because he’s a Manchester United fan.


The PrenupThe Prenup by Lauren Layne (August / September)

Blurb: My name is Charlotte Spencer and, ten years ago, I married my brother’s best friend. I haven’t seen him since.

Charlotte Spencer grew up on the blue-blooded Upper East Side of Manhattan but she never wanted the sit-still-look-pretty future her parents dictated for her. Enter Colin Walsh, her brother’s quiet, brooding, man-bun-sporting best friend, and with him a chance to escape.

He’s far from Charlotte’s dream guy as but they need each other for one thing: marriage. One courthouse wedding later, Charlotte’s inheritance is hers to start a business in San Francisco and Irish-born Colin has a Green Card.

Ten years later, Colin drops a bombshell: the terms of their prenup state that before either can file for divorce, they have to live under the same roof for three months.

Suddenly this match made in practicality is about to take on whole new meaning…

My Thoughts: I’d had ‘The Prenup’ on my Kindle for ages and once I’d finished it, I was kicking myself for not picking it up sooner. It’s a closed-door romance but that doesn’t detract from the love story. Charlotte and Colin bring out the best in each other and I finished the book with a huge smile on my face. At the time, I hadn’t read anything else by Lauren Layne but that quickly changed and I’m steadily working my way through her back catalogue. I’d also recommend ‘Walk of Shame‘ (which was one of my Five Star Reads in November), ‘To Sir, With Love‘ and ‘An Ex for Christmas’ (which was so close to making it into my Favourite Books of 2021).


Ache for You (Slow Burn, #3)Ache for You (Slow Burn #3) by J.T. Geissinger (November)

Blurb: Boutique owner Kimber DiSanto has seen better days. She’s been dumped at the altar by Prince Charmless, her business went up in flames (literally), and now she’s stuck in Florence, Italy, with an ice-queen stepmother, to try to save her late father’s failing dress shop. Only one thing could make it worse: another man in her life. The arrogant Italian fashion tycoon offering to buy her father’s shop is as rich as he is sexy, and their attraction is off the charts. But Kimber’s not about to get burned again.

Women don’t say no to Matteo Moretti—and certainly not with Kimber’s stinging precision. With all the heat and fury sparking between them, Matteo can’t resist baiting the gorgeous American. His plan? Win her over one scorching kiss at a time.

Kimber tells herself it’s all just a game. That her broken heart isn’t in danger, and that Matteo’s touch does not make her Lady Land dance with joy. But sometimes it takes the fieriest of enemies to turn a fantasy into a real-life romance.

My Thoughts: Like ‘The Prenup’, this was another e-book that I’d had on my Kindle for ages. It was only when I decided to tackle my TBR pile before I went on holiday to the land of Barnes & Noble that I got around to actually reading it. As with Lauren Layne, I hadn’t read anything else by this author before. However, when I first started compiling my 10 Favourite Books for 2021, ‘Ache For You’ was one of the first books I thought of. I adored Kimber and her not-so-wicked stepmother but OMG… Matteo Moretti (the arrogant Italian fashion tycoon) instantly skyrocketed to joint-top of my Swoonworthy Book Boyfriends List.


Happy When It Rains (Ohana Girls #4)Happy When It Rains by Louise Hall (January)

Blurb: If I could turn back time…

There are three things that Hawaiian body artist Emmy Montgomery doesn’t do:
1. She doesn’t cry… OK, except for that one time in a field of sunflowers;
2. She doesn’t pierce the tongues of steroid junkies because they’re a lawsuit waiting to happen and;
3. She definitely doesn’t think about Daniel Ford, the British exchange student who broke her teenage heart all those years ago. Definitely not.

When Emmy finds out that Disappearing Daniel is her bestie’s new law professor, she’s persuaded to swap the sunshine of Oahu for the dull, rainy skies of Manchester.

It turns out that the extra-long flight from Hawaii to England might be the least stressful part of her trip because although her initial plan is to confront Daniel, get the closure she so desperately needs and then let all the hurt and resentment she’s been carrying go Disney-style, things aren’t always that straightforward especially when she and Daniel are keeping some big secrets from each other.

My Thoughts: The final entry in my Favourite Books in 2021 is one of my own, ‘Happy When It Rains.’ I don’t know if authors are allowed to have favourites from their own books but if they are, this would definitely be mine. Emmy Montgomery was such a joy to write about. On the surface she’s a total badass with bright-pink hair, tatts and piercings but underneath all the sarcasm, she’s got the biggest heart. In addition to the second chance romance between Emmy and English law professor, Daniel, it’s also a love letter to my hometown of Manchester, England and I got to highlight some of my favourite parts of the city.


Wishing you joy, happiness and lots of books for 2022.

All the best, Louise x

Author:

A pluviophile living in Manchester, England surrounded by books, books and more books. Five Things is FREE on Kindle Unlimited: https://amzn.to/3vYMCRx

Leave a comment