Posted in Five Star Reads

Five Star Reads – October 2023

0894AFE3-8267-44D7-8C8C-C9EEFDB67F2E

With everything that’s been going on in the world, I’ve definitely been drawn more to factual rather than fictional books recently and of the 11 x books I read in October 2023, only 4 were fictional.

For the same reason, I didn’t blog as much in October as I have in previous months although I did start a new weekly blog series titled The Weekly Book Date discussing all things books from the past 7 days.

A-Z: My Favourite Authors & Books finished with W (Teri Wilson & Ashley Winstead), Y (Samantha Young) & Z (Mariana Zapata)

Looking ahead, I blogged about the books I’m most looking forward to being published in November 2023.

Inspired by one of last month’s Five Star Reads, Parachute Women: Marianne Faithfull, Marsha Hunt, Bianca Jagger, Anita Pallenberg, and the Women Behind the Rolling Stones by Elizabeth Winder, I posted about my favourite books by (or about) the wives, girlfriends and groupies of famous musicians in She’s With The Band.

Moving on to my Five Star Read for October 2023 and given my status as a self-proclaimed Lauren Layne Super Fan, it should come as no surprise whatsoever that it was Emergency Contact by Lauren and her husband, Anthony.


Emergency Contact by Lauren Layne & Anthony LeDonne

Emergency Contact was published on 24 October 2023; I started reading it almost as soon as it had downloaded to my Kindle and didn’t put it down again until the Acknowledgements. I was apprehensive as to whether I’d enjoy it as much as the books Lauren has written on her own because she wrote EC with her real-life husband, Anthony but I needn’t have worried. EC is a madcap road trip of calamities and a second-chance romance that’s so touching it warmed even my depressive heart.

Katherine, an ambitious NYC attorney, gets diagnosed with a concussion and must be monitored for 48 hours to make sure it doesn’t get worse. Unfortunately, she forgot to update her emergency contact so the person they call is her ex-husband, Tom.

Unable to be left alone, Katherine reluctantly agrees to travel to Chicago with Tom for the holidays. But thanks to a blizzard, what should have been a quick plane ride turns into an antagonistic overnight misadventure that stirs up old feelings even as Tom prepares to propose to his girlfriend on Christmas Eve.

Tags: Christmas – Favourite Author – Grumpy Sunshine – Road Trip – Second Chance – Vegas Weddings


My Month in Books (October 2023)

⭐️ ⭐️ (Didn’t Like It) 1

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (It was OK) 1

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (Liked It) 8

⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ (Loved It) 1

New-to-Me Authors (Excluding Non-Fiction): N/A

Check out the full list for October 2023 on Goodreads.

Until next month, Louise x


Author:

A pluviophile living in Manchester, England surrounded by books, books and more books. Five Things is FREE on Kindle Unlimited: https://amzn.to/3vYMCRx

Leave a comment