Posted in A-Z Favourite Authors & Books

A-Z: My Favourite Authors & Books – E

F

It’s Week 5 and we’re up to Letter E in My Favourite Authors & Books.

The 2 x amazing books I’ve chosen for today’s blog post Jewish food (yum) & fictional politicians (so much better than IRL).

P.S. If you’ve missed any of my previous A-Z: Favourite Authors & Books, you’ll find links to them all in the Archives.


AUTHOR: Amanda Elliot (Website / Instagram / Twitter)

Amanda Elliot lives with her husband in New York City, where she collects way too many cookbooks for her tiny kitchen, runs in Central Park, and writes for teens and kids under the name Amanda Panitch (Goodreads).

Books I’ve Read by This Author: 1 So Far & 1 x TBR

BOOK: Sadie on a Plate (2022) (My Favourite Novels with Jewish Representation)

As we’ve already established, fictional chefs are my kryptonite. I love Bake-Off, Masterchef and all the cooking shows so it was really fun to read about everything that happens behind the scenes. Be warned though, ‘Sadie on a Plate’ will definitely make you hungry. My family isn’t Jewish (you can read all about that here but Nana used to make gefilte fish for me when I was younger and Amanda was right, it was nothing like the slimy stuff you find in jars nowadays at the supermarket.

Sadie is a rising star in the trendy Seattle restaurant scene. Her dream is to create unique, modern, and mouth-watering takes on traditional Jewish recipes. But after a public breakup with her boss, a famous chef, she is sure her career is over–until she lands a coveted spot on the next season of her favourite TV show, Chef Supreme.

On the plane to New York, Sadie has sizzling chemistry with her seatmate, Luke, but tells him that she won’t be able to contact him for the next six weeks. They prolong their night with a spontaneous, magical dinner before parting ways. Or so she thinks. When she turns up to set the next day, she makes a shocking discovery about who Luke is….

If Sadie wants to save her career by winning Chef Supreme, she’s going to have to ignore the simmering heat between her and Luke. But how long can she do that before the pot boils over?


AUTHOR: Katy Evans (Instagram / Twitter)

Books I’ve Read by This Author: 3

BOOK: Mr President (White House #1) (2016)

Series: Commander in Chief (#2)

He’s won the hearts of millions. But is he willing to lose his?

I met the president’s son when we were both young. Matthew Hamilton was handsome, polished, and intelligent. I’d never met a guy like him.

He promised me that he’d never run for president. I promised that if he did, I’d be by his side.

Three terms later, an invitation to join Matthew Hamilton’s campaign is the most exhilarating opportunity I’ve ever experienced. I’m determined to make a difference; he is determined to win.

Focused on his goal, Matt is steadfast, ruthless, and disarming. All eyes are on him and his popularity is surging. But soon, the next possible president of the United States is possessing me in more ways than one—and despite the risks, I’m helpless to resist.

We’re stealing touches, stealing moments, and stealing away at night. But our chemical connection is quickly becoming dangerously combustive, putting not only my heart, but Matt’s chance at the presidency on the line.

Winning will take everything. Walking away will be the hardest thing of all.


Author:

A pluviophile living in Manchester, England surrounded by books, books and more books. Five Things is FREE on Kindle Unlimited: https://amzn.to/3vYMCRx

Leave a comment