It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (03/04)

badge

It’s Monday…What Are You Reading? is hosted by Kathryn at Book Date.  Please visit her blog to link up and join the fun!

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m kind of between jobs at the moment which sucks but I finally got my offer letter through from the new company last week so fingers crossed, I’ll be gainfully employed again before too long 🙂  It will mean less time for reading (and playing Words with Friends) but on the plus side, at least I’ll have more money to buy books so yay!

The highlight of last week was definitely getting tickets to see ‘Love Letters‘ here in Manchester in November.  It’s the story of Andrew Makepeace Ladd III and Melissa Gardner, two young people from similar backgrounds who take very different paths in life. Despite leading lives which should not intersect, they can’t let go of each other throughout their 50 year friendship, and marriages and families with other people.  I’m a huge fan of the movie ‘Love Story‘ starring Ali MacGraw and Ryan O’Neal and they are going to play Melissa and Andrew in this production of ‘Love Letters’.

What I Read Last Week (4)

What I Bought Last Week (4)

Last week, I bought ‘Wait For It‘ by Mariana Zapata.  Two of her previous books are on my all-time favourites list: ‘The Wall of Winnipeg and Me‘ and ‘Kulti‘.  I took a chance on two authors I’d never read anything else by: ‘The Opposite of You‘ by Rachel Higginson (see below) and ‘Hold Me Down‘ by Sara Taylor Woods.  Finally, I got ‘Bombshell‘ by CD Reiss for 99p as part of the Amazon Kindle First program.

What I’m Going to Read Next

The Opposite of You (Opposites Attract Series Book 1) by [Higginson, Rachel]The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson

I’ve sworn off men.

All men.

Famous last words, right? You’re expecting some epic tale of reluctant love and my dramatic change of heart? Well, you’re not going to get it.

I’m stubborn. And headstrong. And I’ve just survived the worst three years of my life. After escaping an abusive boyfriend to live in hostels and cheap hotels while I worked my way across Europe, I’ve come to two conclusions.

The first? Now that I’m back home, I’m going to squander my expensive culinary degree on a food truck that caters to the late night drunk crowd.

The second? I’m going to prove to the bastard across the plaza that my street food is better than his fussy five course monstrosities.

Killian Quinn might be Food and Wine’s Chef to Watch Out For. He might have a Michelin Star. He might have every food critic in the city wrapped around his too-large fingers. But he’s also pretentious and unbearably arrogant and the very opposite of me.

So he can keep his unsolicited advice and his late night visits and his cocky smiles. I want none of it. Or him.

I want the opposite.

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (03/04)

Leave a Reply

