That’s What He Said Thursday (30/03)

CB_TWHST2

That’s What He Said Thursday is a bookish meme hosted by Chapter Break. To participate you just have to share a quote that one of your (many) book boyfriends said to his girl (who you wish you were). To learn more about this meme click here.

If you’ve read my debut novel, ‘My First Half‘ *cough* another shameless plug *cough*, you’ll know that I’m a huge football (soccer) fan and so the 1st Book Boyfriend I featured just had to be another gorgeous hunk of a footballer with a bad-boy reputation.

This week’s quote is from ‘Kulti‘ by Mariana Zapata.  There are so many fabulous reviews for this book over at Goodreads and so I’m just going to say that I absolutely LOVED it and if you haven’t already, I would definitely recommend you check it out.

“What would I gain from telling you the first moment I realized you were meant to be mine? Nothing. You’re supposed to protect what you love, Sal. You taught me that. I didn’t wake up one day and know I didn’t want to live without your horrible temper. I saw so much of me in you at first, but you aren’t like me at all. You’re you, and I will go to my grave before I let anyone change any part of you. I know that without a doubt in my mind. This,” he pointed between us. “This is what matters.”

And because I’m a greedy, little thing and this next quote never fails to make me smile, here’s one more…

Eyes up here, Taco.

Kulti

Kulti by Mariana Zapata

“Trust me, I’ve wanted to punch you in the face a time or five.”

When the man you worshipped as a kid becomes your coach, it’s supposed to be the greatest thing in the world. Keywords: supposed to.

It didn’t take a week for twenty-seven-year-old Sal Casillas to wonder what she’d seen in the international soccer icon—why she’d ever had his posters on her wall, or ever envisioned marrying him and having super-playing soccer babies.

Sal had long ago gotten over the worst non-break-up in the history of imaginary relationships with a man that hadn’t known she’d existed. So she isn’t prepared for this version of Reiner Kulti who shows up to her team’s season: a quiet, reclusive, shadow of the explosive, passionate man he’d once been.

Nothing could have prepared her for the man she got to know.

Or the murderous urges he brought out in her.

“Sal, please don’t make me visit you in jail. Orange isn’t your color.”

This was going to be the longest season of her life.


2 thoughts on “That’s What He Said Thursday (30/03)

Leave a Reply

